Ivy League

The Ivy League is comprised of eight private colleges and universities located in the Northeastern United States.   The eight institutions are Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, Princeton University, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale University.   The term Ivy League also has connotations of academic excellence, selectivity in admissions, and social elitism.

The term “Ivy League” was coined in the 1930’s by a newspaper columnist to describe a football competition at ivy-covered northeastern universities. During the 1940’s these eight universities agreed to similar academic standards, eligibility rules, and need-based financial aid practices with no athletic scholarships for their football programs. During the 1950’s the Ivy League was officially founded and athletic-related agreements were extended to all sports.

Admission to all of the Ivy League institutions is very competitive.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email